Login
Forums >> Phone Specific Discussion >> iPhone >> IOS 13 - Background Location Use Warnings
IOS 13 - Background Location Use Warnings
Author Topic
cayman


Beginner

Join Date: 2013-08-23
Posts: 41
Posted: 2019-10-25 01:12:22 PM

I use the app to track our vehicles when they go out during the day.
One of the vehicles stops tracking at what seems like random times.

Today, I noticed that the location services were set to "when using the app" instead of "always" - This time, I know that I changed that setting before.

I dont think my team are going in to change that setting, but I do think it is possible they are getting the new notification messages about background location usage by certain apps.

I know this isnt something that is set by your app - but does anyone know if this can be turned off somewhere in the settings? I dont want it to pop up again and tell them it is using their location in the background.
Administrator


Best of the Best

Join Date: 2010-01-27
Posts: 1429
Posted: 2019-10-25 03:25:56 PM

In iOS 13, the device will prompt up this notification periodically, "FollowMee has used your location in the background". This is Apple''s reminder of the background tracking. Currently there is no method to suppress this notification. For details of this message, see this link
https://qz.com/1713581/what-to-do-when-an-iphone-app-is-using-your-location-in-the-background/

When this prompts, you must choose "Always Allow". Otherwise, the app will stop working. If you did not choose this option, you need to go to Settings -> FollowMee. Select "Always" for location. But this message will continue to prompt up after several days.

cayman


Beginner

Join Date: 2013-08-23
Posts: 41
Posted: 2019-10-29 10:33:42 AM

Ya, thats what I thought.
I think the people using the phone see the prompt and then do not hit "always" - I am not 100% sure that it is on purpose or not.

Thanks
cayman


Beginner

Join Date: 2013-08-23
Posts: 41
Posted: 2019-11-08 08:51:16 AM

Just an update - again, I know this is not the fault of the app - but this popup comes up and lets the user of the phone change the setting to "when using the app" - and it keeps followmee from tracking.

I thought that if I caught the setting, I could say "always allow" and be done with it - but it must regularly keep coming up and asking.
Administrator


Best of the Best

Join Date: 2010-01-27
Posts: 1429
Posted: 2019-11-08 09:41:07 AM

This popup will come back regularly and you have to choose "always allow" each time. This will become a nightmare for the background tracking app. Please leave a feedback to Apple to remove this prompt.
https://www.apple.com/feedback

cayman


Beginner

Join Date: 2013-08-23
Posts: 41
Posted: 2019-11-20 07:13:52 AM

I have sent in feedback.
It is causing problems on a regular basis with the followmee app.

I understand transparency about location services and apps, but as I mentioned in my feedback, I should be able to turn this off once I have responded to a specific app notification about background location services.
mteicher


Forum Superstar

Join Date: 2014-04-09
Posts: 506
Posted: 2019-11-20 12:07:48 PM

I only recall being asked this once and that was quite a long time ago.
morriscoleman@hotmail.com


Newbie

Join Date: 2016-01-03
Posts: 1
Posted: 2019-11-21 06:42:24 AM

Have contacted Apple about this problem. They were very polite, and took the point, especially when I mentioned vehicle tracking is compromised, and parents of wayward teenagers !!
They said they would escalate the concern to be looked at by their planners...

FollowMee.com